Song of the Week: Polarize

I had heard of Twenty One Pilots from my youth but had not heard them until I saw them on Saturday Night Live, where they did their songs “Heathens” and “Ride” and I was hooked. The emotion they put into their music, their self-reflecting and honest lyrics, their catching music. They infuse issues of self-doubt, insecurities and faith in their music – all of which I can relate to.

Btw, the rerun of the SNL episode that they were on will be airing this Saturday evening. I highly recommend checking it out. You can also watch it on NBC with provider log-in. If you’re unfamiliar with their music, those two songs are good introductions to them.

I really like this song for some of the phrasing, including “Domingo en fuego, I think I lost my halo”. “Domingo en fuego” meaning “Sunday Fire”. Great poetry here and an encouragement to me to be a better person (lyrics provided below):

 

 

“Polarize”
by Twenty One Pilots

Help me polarize, help me polarize,
Help me down,
Those stairs is where I’ll be hiding all my problems,
Help me polarize, help me polarize,
Help me out,
My friends and I, we’ve got a lot of problems.

You know where I’m coming,
From though I am running,
To you, all I feel is deny, deny, denial,
I wanted to be a better brother, better son,
Wanted to be a better adversary to the evil I have done,
I have none to show to the one I love,
But deny, deny, denial.

Help me polarize, help me polarize,
Help me down,
Those stairs is where I’ll be hiding all my problems,
Help me polarize, help me polarize,
Help me out,
My friends and I, we’ve got a lot of problems.

Polarize is taking your disguises,
Separating them, splitting them up from wrong and right,
It’s deciding where to die and deciding where to fight,
Deny, deny, denial.

I wanted to be a better brother, better son,
Wanted to be a better adversary to the evil I have done,
I have none to show to the one I love,
But deny, deny, denial.

Help me polarize, help me polarize,
Help me down,
Those stairs is where I’ll be hiding all my problems,
Help me polarize, help me polarize,
Help me out,
My friends and I, we’ve got a lot of problems.

We have problems
We have problems

[2x]
Domingo en fuego, I think I lost my halo,
I don’t know where you are,
You’ll have to come and find me, find me.

We have problems
We have problems

Help me polarize, help me polarize,
Help me out,
My friends and I have problems…

We have problems
We have problems

I wanted to be a better brother, better son
I wanted to be a better brother, better son
I wanted to be a better brother, better son

 

About howie snyder

Love Jesus, love my family, love meeting new people and sharing life with them!
This entry was posted in General Interest, Music, Spiritual and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

