Favorite Podcasts

the world is listening

I love listening to Podcasts. Been into them for a couple years now. Helps lesson the stress of my daily commute, provides an excellent meditative/reflective time with God, keeps me up-to-date on news, sports and entertaining and interesting topics of things to do with everything in this world we live in and beyond. Plus can help make chores and exercise more enjoyable. My brother recently asked me what podcasts I had been listening to, so I listed them out in an email and reminded me that I had meant to list them in my blog at some point. So here they are, in no particular order (you can click on the image to go to the iTunes page):

PrayAsYouGo

Pray As You Go, by Jesuit Media Initiatives, out of the U.K. Awesome 10-12 minute daily meditations that include some meditative music and times for reflection and prayer. You can also stream them or download them direct from their website. The cool accents make them sound more spiritual too!

99Inv

Love Roman Mars and the 99% Invisible by Radiotopia Podcast! Roman is just so likable, you feel like you are friends. And the stuff he covers is so fascinating. I find myself wanting to get home while I’m driving to look up the images on the website and sometimes Google the topics for more information. Edit: Forgot to mention that this blog focuses on design and architecture. Per Wikipedia, “With its name taken from a quote by Buckminster Fuller[4] where he said, “Ninety-nine percent of who you are is invisible and untouchable”, the show aims to expose the unseen and overlooked aspects of design, architecture, and activity in the world.”

ByTheWay

Disclaimer: the language is R rated

I saw this podcast recommended on a list of comedy podcasts a couple years back. I checked out the other comedy podcasts on that list, but just didn’t get into them. But loved this one. It got me through driving all night one time on the way to Denver. I kept waking Nicole up with my laughs though. It’s getting a little old to me now though. Edit: The structure of the podcast is that comedian Jeff Garlin (of the TV Shows Curb Your Enthusiasm and The Goldbergs), chats in an unscripted and ad-lib format on a live stage with a guest from the entertainment industry that he is friends with or admires. They are mostly comedians, but not all. Very fun to listen to and learn about these people in this off-the-cuff manner.

FreshAir

If you’ve ever listened to Fresh Air on NPR, no introduction is needed. But if not, Terry Gross and Dave Davies are just the best. I don’t know how many times I’ve heard the interviewees exclaim as much. And if you haven’t seen the Too Fresh Too Furious video that Mike Birbiglia did with Terry Gross, you have to check it out, especially for Fresh Air fans!  🙂

ESPNHighlyQ

Since we switched to Antenna, I unfortunately can no longer watch my favorite ESPN shows like Highly Questionable, so I listen to them via podcast now. Dan Le Batard, Gonzalo “Papi” Le Batard and Bomani Jones give sports and entertainment news, crack me up and they have a lot of fun doing it. Highly recommend. Though it’s frustrating listening to this podcast when they are showing and laughing at a video you can’t see.

PTI

Another ESPN favorite. Tony Kornheiser and Michael Wilbon offer some of the best insights on sports and occasionally other topics including race and domestic abuse issues. Plus, Wilbon is a big Chicago sports fan, so that’s a plus. Edit: This is a show that may be an acquired taste on some level as they get pretty animated with their banter to each other that some may find agitating. But I find it enjoyable now that I’ve gotten used to it and gotten to know their personalities.

StuffYouShouldKnow

My sons enjoy listening to these with me. Love Josh and Chuck and all the stuff they share – fantastic podcast! Edit: They do research and then share about a wide variety of topics from Grassoline to Sea Monsters to X-Rays to Terraforming. Very informative and entertaining – they make me laugh.  😀

RadioLab

Radiolab was recommended to me by my friend David McConnell-Booher – thanks Dave! Reminds me a lot of 99% Invisible with the style they use – fascinating information presented in a very entertaining way. Per Wikipedia:

Hosted by Jad Abumrad and Robert Krulwich, the show focuses on topics of a scientific and philosophical nature. The show attempts to approach broad, difficult topics such as “time” and “morality” in an accessible and light-hearted manner and with a distinctive audio production style.

Science60

There’s a whole series of these 60-Second Poscasts from Scientific American that I have subscribed to – they’re listed below. Great new information in short soundbites. Recommended by my friend Rob Oldenburg – thanks Rob!

About howie snyder

Love Jesus, love my family, love meeting new people and sharing life with them!
This entry was posted in General Interest, Technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Favorite Podcasts

  1. haha, love your comment re: 60-second earth 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

