Song of the Week – Relient K, Deathbed

My plan is to post a song each week, so hope to be more consistent with it. This song is one of my all-time favorite – very moving. If you have never heard it before, despite it’s length, it’s worth a listen. I was listening to my music on random on the way home the other day and this song came on. The part that chokes me up every time is this verse:

I was so scared of Jesus
But He sought me out
Like the cancer in my lungs
It’s killing me now
And I’ve given up hope
On the days I have left
But I cling to the hope
Of my life in the next
Then Jesus showed up
Said “Before we go”
“I thought that we might reminisce”
“See one night in your life”
“When you turned out the light”
“You asked for and prayed for my forgiveness”

You cried wolf
The tears they soaked your fur
The blood dripped from your fangs
You said, “What have I done?”
You loved that lamb
With every sinful bone
And there you wept alone
Your heart was so contrite

You said, “Jesus, please forgive me of my crimes
Sanctify this withered heart of mine
Stay with me until my life is through
And on that day please take me home with you”

Then after the long instrumental interlude, Jon Foreman of Switchfoot sings this awesome part, as the voice of Jesus:

I am the Way
Follow Me
And take My hand
And I am the Truth
Embrace Me and you’ll understand
And I am the Life
And for Me you’ll live again
For I am Love
I am Love
I, I am Love

Grace & peace to you this day…

About howie snyder

Love Jesus, love my family, love meeting new people and sharing life with them!
This entry was posted in Devotional, Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

