Season of Winter

A_LONG_WINTER_ROAD

Awesome song by Brand New Shoes and excellent video interpretation by Retro 8 Films.

Thought of this song last night after the Ash Wednesday Service we went to at St. David’s. This is a somber and melancholy song, but I’ve been finding myself in a somber and melancholy mood. Part of it is this long and very cold winter. Part of it is the start of the Lenten season, remembering that we come from dust and shall return to dust, that we mourn our own sin in this time and mourn the sacrifice of Christ for us. All of this I take and accept with the joy that we see through all of this in the culmination of Easter. But this has also been a very hard season for Nicole and I; struggling with direction, why we are where we are, the betrayal and pain of the betrayal we went through and for just a sense of loss, isolation and incompleteness with what, where, why and how for our direction, future and purpose.

So we mourn our own failures and failures of others and our brokenness and the brokenness of our world and the world around us. And we pray for the redemption of this time and this place, in the midst of this season.

I praise the wounds
and the blood of the Lamb
that heals the weakness
of my body,
I praise the wounds
and the blood of the Lamb
that heals the weakness
of my soul,
I praise the wounds
and the blood of the Lamb
that heals the weakness
of my spirit…

Lay Your Weapons Down – by Brand New Shadows

its been the coldest year i can remember
and the leaves just started turning brown
so when you see my white flag waving
would you please lay your weapons down..

its been the hardest battle in the campaign
and theres still no proof of gaining ground
so when my scars bloom like roses
can we please lay the weapons down..

are we fighting for the same thing
or are you just gonna wear me down
cuz i dont think ill make it through the winter
if you wont let me talk it out

its been the longest time ive gone without you
and in moments i can part the clouds
i never thought my mind could be sober
but ive learned to lay the lion down

we’ve been fighting for the same things
and you’ve worn all my defenses out
i never would have made it to shelter
if you hadnt broken me down

its been a year id rather not remember
but the memories where the answers found
i know you see my white flag waving
would you please lay your weapons down..

About howie snyder

Love Jesus, love my family, love meeting new people and sharing life with them!
This entry was posted in Devotional, General Interest, Music, Spiritual, Theology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Season of Winter

  1. thank you, for this

    Like

  2. scriptordeus says:

    The battles of this world really do wear us down. Take courage, friend. He is victorious.

    Like

    • howie snyder says:

      Thank you. Yes, in 10,000 years we’ll look back at our petty trials of these days with a quite different perspective. But while we’re here, we just have to have courage and wait and trust with each step of the journey.

      Like

Leave a Reply

