10 reasons to Boycott Christian Contemporary Music (if you aren’t already)

I thought this was pretty good. Would be curious to hear thoughts on this and also curious to hear what music people are listening to – so please share! 🙂

About howie snyder

Love Jesus, love my family, love meeting new people and sharing life with them!
This entry was posted in General Interest. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 10 reasons to Boycott Christian Contemporary Music (if you aren’t already)

  1. probably why I have not been listening to Christian music 😮 I especially appreciate #s 4 and 7. Though, I can’t believe he dissed Five Iron Frenzy!

    Like

    • howie snyder says:

      I don’t think he was actually dissing FIF – he was just bringing out the point that mainstream Christian artists had patriotic songs and the danger inherent in that. Yeah, I thought you’d like #s 4 & 7. Made me think of Jennifer Knapp’s song, “The Lament” which I listened to the other day – good song! Number 8 is a good point too in relation to the whole scorched earth view that many Christians have (as opposed to Earth care).

      Like

    • matichuk says:

      I kind of regret lumping FIF in there. Shouldn’t have been done. Especially since FIF is questioning some of that.

      Like

      • howie snyder says:

        Appreciate that – but no worries from my end. I am curious which songs you are referring to from both Five Iron Frenzy & Rich Mullins. I’m pretty familiar with both of them but don’t recall a patriotic song from either.

        Btw, loving your blog – the few I’ve read so far. Good stuff!

        Like

      • matichuk says:

        Rich is generally a counter example to some of the CCM trends, but I think ‘In America’ lends itself in a patriotic direction. With FIF, I think I grabbed at a song title but didn’t actually engage the song (which was actually doing the opposite). This post is more than a year old and I can’t really remember my reference point.

        Like

      • howie snyder says:

        When I think of patriotic CCM songs I immediately think of by Bob Carlisle’s The Allies song, In America and Farrell and Farrell’s American Man. That shows my age. I used to love both of those songs. 🙂

        Yeah, I happened upon your year-old blog via another blog while Googling Reese Roper. Don’t know if you can see this link, but big discussion on my FB page after I re-blogged your blog. Crazy! Guess I need to think up controversial things to blog about to get people to read my blog! 🙂

        Like

  2. sclason says:

    Interesting view Howie.. obviously you’ve been busy:-) I’m probably more frustrated w/ Christian radio than I am w/ Christian music or artists.

    Like

    • howie snyder says:

      I hear ya. This is a Blog from someone else that I found interesting so I re-blogged it. I still like a lot of Christian music, but also have a hard time listening to Christian radio.

      Like

Leave a Reply

