good things come to them that wait / not to those who hesitate / so hurry up and wait upon the Lord

Came you name that Petra tune?

Just thinking about that line this morning as I ponder the day and my life. Nicole and I have recently been appointed for an organic, missional community development in our community. It’s a way to try and communicate that we are attempting to plant a church in our community, but trying to avoid saying “church planting”. We’ve had permission and encouragement to begin this work for some time, but now that we’ve been actually appointed, we’ve really started to try and figure out how to do this. The problem I have is that I have so many fears and insecurities to do this kind of a thing. Fear of failure, fear of not knowing what to do, fear of… And I know that in a sense, this is a good place to be, because then you have to just trust in God. But I get stuck in that place where I’m afraid to do anything and would rather not do anything. To quote a Barenaked Ladies song:

Afraid of change
Afraid of staying the same
When temptation calls
We just look away

(Can you name that tune?)

Anyhow, we would appreciate prayers as we begin this chapter in our life and seek God’s Spirit, guidance, wisdom, grace and mercy. I do just keep coming back to trying to know that it’s not me, but that I have to seek God’s Spirit and guidance in this and trust in Him.

To just be still

To be

just

church.

Just be a community of people living, loving, being.

Loved this:
Be Still and Know
Taken from: http://www.wisdomheart.org/2011/be-still-know/

About howie snyder

Love Jesus, love my family, love meeting new people and sharing life with them!
This entry was posted in Devotional, Missional Community, Spiritual, Theology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to good things come to them that wait / not to those who hesitate / so hurry up and wait upon the Lord

  1. Mark says:

    Good morning, Howard…
    I have been thinking about you lately. I hope that this finds you well; we still have not made time to get together for coffee, lunch and fellowship… Please give me a call 779-875-1112.

    Regards,
    Mark

    Like

  2. I just saw that poetic expression yesterday, but, LOVE the illustration there–beautiful!

    Like

  3. Oh yeah, I know that stuck place so well. That’s why it’s so much of a focus of my own writing this year. I’m currently forcing myself to do the same–just do something, maybe fail, but do something. I really got a lot from the message at ordination–go after the door. If it isn’t right, at least you’re on the way.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Over the River | Howie's Blog

Leave a Reply

