Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner…

JesusPrayerSmallGreek

The Jesus Prayer has been something that has been meaningful to me in my life, ever since I first learned about it through Richard Foster and again through Tony Jones’ excellent chapter in The Sacred Way: Spiritual Practices for Everyday Life on the Jesus Prayer. “The Sacred Way” is an updated reprint of Tony’s earlier book, Soul Shaper. (You can read part of the chapter here –pages 61 and following).

Anyhow, Fernando Ortega’s beautiful song here has come on my iPod a couple times and Nicole and I’ve been in love with the whole Odes Project that this song is on. Here is the song:

This song uses the phrasing of the Jesus Prayer, based on the Scripture on Blind Bartimaeus. One of the things I appreciate so much about the Jesus Prayer is that there are times when I am so griped by anxiety that I feel like I cannot grasp enough peace to pray about anything or I don’t know what to pray. But the Jesus Prayer gives me something to pray through to help calm my spirit. I feel like in those times I can resonate with Blind Bartimaeus in my desperation for Jesus and for mercy and to see! So may this prayer and this song be a blessing to you as we together seek mercy and sight in Christ.

A poem I wrote a number of years back:

Yearning

I am walking above my body
I see it down below
It’s dragging me with it
Like a balloon with many strings

I am like a puppeteer
Controlled by the puppet
Who is holding hands with the Devil
While I cry in submission

How I long to be free
And breathe the breath of clouds
To feel heaven on my fingertips
And to have feet of eagles

I long for the longing
To be on the cliff’s edge
Of a desperate yearning
For a feast from above

Take me there, oh God.

About howie snyder

Love Jesus, love my family, love meeting new people and sharing life with them!
This entry was posted in Devotional, Music, Spiritual, Theology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner…

  1. Wick says:

    I can dig it. Although it seems the maker of the wood-carving above would rather not remember the “a/the sinner” part of the prayer. 🙂

    Like

    • howie snyder says:

      Ha – good point! Nice scholarly eye. 😉 Though there are actually several variations of the Jesus Prayer that sometimes shortens it. I gave the full long version. Sometimes it doesn’t include “Son of God” and sometimes doesn’t include “a sinner”, so “Lord Jesus Christ, Have mercy on me!” is one version. Blind Bartimaeus actually said “Jesus, Son of David”. To me, I sometimes shorten it all the way down to just “Jesus”. Thanks for the comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

