Wheel of Faith

A friend of mine recently asked me about finding peace in the spiritual journey, so I thought I’d share this brief illustration that has been really helpful for me in my life. This “Wheel of Faith” is basically my adaptation of the Navigators Wheel of Discipleship:
I first was introduced to the Navigators Wheel of Discipleship as a sophomore in high school and it stuck with me. What I found really helpful for me was that there have been times when I have felt not-right or not-connected with God in my life. And then I would remember “the wheel” and think through what I might be missing. Every time I would do this, I would always find that there was at least one of these elements that was absent in my life. Either I wasn’t spending time in God’s word, or I wasn’t involved in any kind of outreach in my life, or there was some sin that I wasn’t confessing and dealing with.

Now, this is an imperfect illustration, of course, for several reasons. One is that it implies that there has to be a balance of each of these spokes. But every person is different, with different gifts, abilities, personalities, circumstances, etc. And it could be different for different seasons in our lives as well, where you may rely heavily on one area for whatever reason or purpose and much less in another area. And this illustration can look too neat and formulaic as well. But all that said, I like this illustration for it’s simplicity, ease in remembering and a sense of integrating these different elements in my life. I’ve changed up my “wheel” for use in teaching – influenced by Rick Warren’s Purpose Driven Life and Doug Fields’ Purpose Driven Youth Ministry.

Here’s the break-down
HUB – Christ – Galatians 2:20 & Ephesians 2:8 “For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith”
You have no wheel without the HUB! And the two most important things you have to come to understand with the HUB are grace and faith. I define grace as “undeserved forgiveness” or “unmerited favor” and faith as “Belief plus Surrender”.

GROW (Discipleship)
The two basic components of spiritual growth takes place through prayer and reading God’s word, though there are a myriad of ways you can go about these. I recommend Richard Foster’s book, Prayer: Finding the Heart’s True Home for learning many different ways to integrate prayer in your life. For reading Scriptures, two resources I’ve liked using are Pray As You Go and Northumbria Community’s Celtic Daily Prayer. You can access the Scriptures for the daily office readings from the Northumbria Community Website HERE.

CONNECT (Fellowship/Community)
Often the most highly neglected spoke, key verse is James 5:16:

“Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.”

REACH (Evangelism)
The Great Commission! Matthew 28:19-20 “Therefore go and make disciples…”

DISCOVER Your Spiritual Gifts (Service/Ministry)
What are your spiritual gifts? Are you using them for the Kingdom? Here’s a spiritual gifts inventory that you can take online HERE!

LIFE OF WORSHIP
The Navigators used “The Obedient Christian in Action” for the rim, but I like the idea of living our lives as a life of worship here better, as per Romans 12:1-2:

Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship. Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.

This Scripture really shows how we are to be set-apart and seek God’s will in our lives as a life-style and incorporates the Biblical purpose of worship, but helps show this as beyond just a Sunday morning thing, but a lifestyle.

Anyhow, would love some comments here – what do you think? Helpful?

About howie snyder

Love Jesus, love my family, love meeting new people and sharing life with them!
This entry was posted in Devotional, Spiritual, Theology, Youth Ministry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

