Living “In the Middle” – love Eugene Peterson


Pastor Erik shared this quote in his sermon yesterday at Resolution Church. Excellent sermon – thanks for sharing the word, Erik!

People who live by faith have a particularly acute sense of living “in the middle.” We believe that God is at the beginning of all things, and we believe that God is at the conclusion of all life – in St. John’s striking epigram: “the Alpha and the Omega” (Rev. 1:8). It is routine among us to assume that the beginning was good (“and God saw everything that he had made, and behold it was very good”). It is agreed among us that the conclusion will be good (“And I saw a new heaven and a new earth”). That would seem to guarantee that everything between the good beginning and the good ending will also be good. But it doesn’t turn out that way. Or at least it doesn’t in the ways we expect. That always comes as a surprise. We expect uninterrupted goodness, and it is interrupted: I am rejected by a parent, coerced by a government, divorced by a spouse, discriminated against by a society, injured by another’s carelessness. All of this in a life which at its creation was very good and at its conclusion will be completed according to God’s design. Between the believed but unremembered beginning and the hoped for but unimaginable ending there are disappointments, contradictions, not-to-be-explained absurdities, bewildering paradoxes – each of them a reversal of expectation.
–Eugene Peterson, Reversed Thunder

I love Eugene. Anyhow, this quote also makes me think a lot of the Northumbria Community Celtic Daily Devotions over the past few days and their focus on the suffering of Christ. Feel like we’ve been really going through it lately with a lot of our own “disappointments, contradictions, not-to-be-explained absurdities, bewildering paradoxes – each of them a reversal of expectation.”

A couple days ahead on this meditation, but need this today:

I praise the wounds
and the blood of the Lamb
that heals the weakness
of my body,
I praise the wounds
and the blood of the Lamb
that heals the weakness
of my soul,
I praise the wounds
and the blood of the Lamb
that heals the weakness
of my spirit!

Praise be to the blood of the Lamb
in His forgiving power.
Praise be to the blood of the Lamb
in His cleansing power.
Praise be to the blood of the Lamb
in His saving power.
Praise be to the blood of the Lamb
in His releasing power.
Praise be to the blood of the Lamb
in His victorious power.
Praise be to the blood of the Lamb
in His renewing power.
Praise be to the blood of the Lamb
in His protecting power.

For whoever believes
in the power of the blood of Jesus,
nothing is impossible.

I praise the blood of the Lamb
that covers all my sins
so that they can no
longer be seen,
I praise the blood of the Lamb
that cleanses me
from all my sins
and makes me
white as snow,
I praise the blood of the Lamb
that has power to free me
from all my bondages
and chains of sin.

I praise the blood of the Lamb
that is stronger
than my own sin-infested blood
and remoulds me
into the image of God,

I praise the blood of the Lamb
that is victorious
over all powers that seek to
oppress me,
over every power of the enemy.
I praise the blood of the Lamb
that protects me from all
the devious attacks of the enemy.
I praise the blood of the Lamb
that prepares for me
the bridal garment.

I praise the blood of the Lamb
that makes all things new.
Hallelujah! Amen.
M. Basilea Schlink

“Behold, I am making all things new…” (Rev. 21:5)

About howie snyder

Love Jesus, love my family, love meeting new people and sharing life with them!
This entry was posted in Devotional, Spiritual and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Living “In the Middle” – love Eugene Peterson

  1. Suzanne says:

    Excellent post, Howie. Really provocative words.

    Like

Leave a Reply

