How Not to Get Caught

Image

Please, please, put in a short comment on this blog to give your thoughts or even just to say hi!  🙂

Also, you can click on the button on the right to SUBSCRIBE to my blog.;

Last night we started a new series in youth group called, “How Not to Get Caught”. This is a series I got from Doug Fields and Simply Youth Ministry.

We also watched this awesome video: He is Alive!  

Check out the notes below on our lesson. One important thing that I want to make sure to always communicate to the youth (and all of us, including myself!) is that we are “saved by grace” and so we live by and follow a gospel of grace, not a gospel of sin-management. I explained what this meant to the youth and will continue to reiterate this over and over to them weekly, especially in the midst of this series. It is sooooo important that we remember, that God is utterly, deeply, amazingly and unconditionally in love with us. This is hard for us to accept, so we have to keep reminding ourselves and each other of this. And this is especially important in dealing with a series like this. We work on trying to live a holy and righteous life, not because we’re trying to earn God’s love and favor–there is nothing we can do that would ever make God love us less or more–but because of our love for God and because sin hurts our connection with God.

My deepest awareness of myself is that I am deeply loved by Jesus Christ and I have done nothing to earn it or deserve it. 
Brennan ManningThe Ragamuffin Gospel

With all that being said, youth group went really well last night. We had a good worship time singing, How He Love Us, Forever Reign and Even Though I Walk.  The lesson time seemed to go well with good feedback from the youth as well. Looking forward to this series! All to the glory of our Abba & King!  🙂

HOW NOT TO GET CAUGHT

Week 1 – When Temptation Wins

WHAT HAPPENS TO OUR LIVES WHEN TEMPTATION WINS?

1. It robs us of our CONFIDENCE.

2. It leads to BIGGER PROBLEMS.

3. It brings death to RELATIONSHIPS.

4. It makes us feel like HYPOCRITES.

5. It leads to a HARD HEART.

6. It deflates our power to SHARE CHRIST.

HOW TO HELP TEMPTATION LOSE

1. You and I can stop BLAMING GOD.

“When people are tempted, they should not say, ‘God is tempting me’.  Evil cannot tempt God, and God himself does not tempt anyone. But people are tempted when their own evil desire leads them away and traps them. This desire leads to sin, and then the sin grows and brings death” (James 1:13-15).

2. Believe you have the power to SAY NO.

“But remember this – the wrong desires that come into your life aren’t anything new and different. Many others have faced exactly the same problems before you. And no temptation is irresistible. You can trust God to keep the temptation from becoming so strong that you can’t stand up against it, for He has promised this and will do what He says. He will show you how to escape temptation’s power so that you can bear up patiently against it” (1 Corinthians 10:13).

3. Acknowledge that temptation produces CHARACTER

“Dear Brothers, is your life full of difficulties and temptations? Then be happy, for when the way is rough, your patience has a chance to grow. So let it grow, and don’t try to squirm out of your problems. For when your patience is finally in full bloom, then you will be ready for anything, strong in character, full and complete” (James 1:2-4).

4. Be thankful for your SPIRITUAL GROWTH.

“At first I didn’t think of it as a gift, and begged God to remove it. Three times I did that, and then He told me, ‘My grace is enough; it’s all you need. My strength comes into its own in your weakness.’ Once I heard that, I was glad to let it happen. I quit focusing on the handicap and began appreciating the gift. It was a case of Christ’s strength moving in on my weakness. Now I take limitations in stride, and with good cheer, these limitations that cut me down to size – abuse, accidents, opposition, bad breaks. I just let Christ take over! And so the weaker I get, the stronger I become” (2 Corinthians 12:8-10).

About howie snyder

Love Jesus, love my family, love meeting new people and sharing life with them!
This entry was posted in General Interest, Spiritual, Youth Ministry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How Not to Get Caught

  1. One thing that struck me as you were communicating to the youth last night–that giving in to temptation has a result of feeling like a hypocrite and that leads to a hard heart–is that when we sin, we do not behave in such a way that is consonant with who we are most truly as created in God’s image. Sometimes we focus on how sin “makes God sad” or “hurts me just as much as the offended” keeping the sin as a separate entity (e.g., “love the sinner, hate the sin”). But, it is very much a spiritual and physical event that compromises the entire being AND ecosystem (a la, Howard Sr. :-)). Conceiving of sin as an act that is not compatible with one’s own created being makes acting and thinking in ways that are, more plausible. That is, when I see how my wrong action (thought, inaction, etc.) is not who I am created to be in all the being-perfected-absolutely-loved-by-God glory, I can see the power I already possess to be just what I am made to be (vs trying to stop sinning). It is that crusty coating of not-self that hardens the heart. It is so freeing (not to mention easier) to endeavor to be what I have already been created to be–and have the power to be, rather than trying to correct for (and with accompanying shame) the sin I have committed.

    Obviously, I am trying to put off packing!
    You rocked last night 😉

    Like

  2. Howard Snyder says:

    That’s very encouraging, How. The meeting with your youth, I mean. Great work!

    Like

  3. Brian McLaughlin says:

    Howie I love this message. It spoke to me. So did Nicole’s reply. My aren’t you two the little power couple. I really liked the list of things that happen when you give into to temptation. I also liked the explanation of why we obey, not to earn favor, but because we already have it. Good message. Keep it up brother. You to Nicole.

    Like

Leave a Reply

