I praise the wounds and the blood of the Lamb…

This Caedmon’s Call song has been on my heart and mind a lot lately, in particular because of a conversation with a brother a coupe days ago as we talked about the whole “grass is greener” thing as we lamented on our plights. Here are the lyrics:

The grass looked greener on the other side
So I tried to, snatch myself from your hand
Caught a boat to anywhere but Nineveh
And, well you know, I got spit back on dry land.

Give me purity and give me continence
But oh no, not yet.
Like a coin hiding in the corner
Trying not to be swept
And I was trying not to be swept.

Kicking against these goads
Sure did cut up my feet
And didn’t your hands get bloody
As you washed them clean (you washed them!),

Chorus:
Here I am again, back where I began
Try as I may I can’t get away from you
And all of these roads lead me to roam,
Bring me back home.
Here I am again, back where I began.

So you have yourself your ninety nine,
Isn’t that enough for you?
Still you followed me to the shadowed valley
Carried me on your shoulders too.

I’ve done the work of Sisyphus
Thinking that I could get over this hill
But the one thing I can’t get over now…
Is the force of your will.

Particularly “still you followed me to the shadowed valley”. Just amazing the Father’s love for us. So after listening to this song again this morning, I read the following meditation for this morning from the Northumbria Community morning prayer:

I praise the wounds
and the blood of the Lamb
that heals the weakness
of my body,
I praise the wounds
and the blood of the Lamb
that heals the weakness
of my soul,
I praise the wounds
and the blood of the Lamb
that heals the weakness
of my spirit!

Praise be to the blood of the Lamb
in His forgiving power.
Praise be to the blood of the Lamb
in His cleansing power.
Praise be to the blood of the Lamb
in His saving power.
Praise be to the blood of the Lamb
in His releasing power.
Praise be to the blood of the Lamb
in His victorious power.
Praise be to the blood of the Lamb
in His renewing power.
Praise be to the blood of the Lamb
in His protecting power.

For whoever believes
in the power of the blood of Jesus,
nothing is impossible.

I praise the blood of the Lamb
that covers all my sins
so that they can no
longer be seen,
I praise the blood of the Lamb
that cleanses me
from all my sins
and makes me
white as snow,
I praise the blood of the Lamb
that has power to free me
from all my bondages
and chains of sin.

I praise the blood of the Lamb
that is stronger
than my own sin-infested blood
and remoulds me
into the image of God,

I praise the blood of the Lamb
that is victorious
over all powers that seek to
oppress me,
over every power of the enemy.
I praise the blood of the Lamb
that protects me from all
the devious attacks of the enemy.
I praise the blood of the Lamb
that prepares for me
the bridal garment.

I praise the blood of the Lamb
that makes all things new.
Hallelujah! Amen.
M. Basilea Schlink

Powerful words. As I read these words I was reminded of taking communion yesterday at church and not just His sacrifice but also the healing and power through what Christ did for us. Thank you Lord for your healing, cleansing, forgiving, saving, releasing, victorious, renewing, protecting power! We love you, Father.

 

About howie snyder

Love Jesus, love my family, love meeting new people and sharing life with them!
This entry was posted in Devotional, Spiritual and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I praise the wounds and the blood of the Lamb…

  1. Jerilyn says:

    Thanks, this was a great devotion for me this morning!

    Like

Leave a Reply

