What’s your favorite Hymn?

I did my first ever Funeral Memorial Service today. I was pretty anxious about it, but it seemed to go pretty well. Evelyn was a long time member of our church, but with me being new at the church and with her living in California the past year and a half, I had never met her. But she left a wonderful legacy of 12 grandchildren; 32 great grandchildren and 16 great great grandchildren. It was wonderful to meet many of them over the last couple of days and a honor to be able to minister to them in this time.

Anyhow, Evelyn’s favorite hymns were Take My Hand Precious Lord, Just As I Am and Softly And Tenderly. Wonderful hymns and it got me thinking of my favorite hymns. Come Thou Fount is definitely my favorite. Here are a couple other of my favorites, probably in this order:

  • Come Thou Fount
  • And Can It Be
  • Be Thou My Vision
  • He Hideth My Soul
  • In the Garden
Anyhow, just thinking of some of these wonderful hymns and was wondering if anyone would be willing to share what your favorite hymn(s) are. Please share!  🙂
About howie snyder

Love Jesus, love my family, love meeting new people and sharing life with them!
This entry was posted in General Interest, Spiritual and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What’s your favorite Hymn?

  1. Brian McLaughlin says:

    It Is Well
    And Can It Be
    Crown Him with Many Crowns
    More Love to Thee
    Be Thou My Vision
    A Mighty Fortress

    Here are a few that I love. Not in any particular ordrer.

    Like

    • howiesnyder says:

      Thanks Bri! Excellent Hymns. A Mighty Fortress – forgot about that one. Makes me think of the Glad version of that song. Crown Him with Many Crowns is moving to sing too.

      Just thought of another one – All Creatures of Our God and King. I love David Crowder’s Version of that especially.

      Like

  2. Suzanne Oliver says:

    Well, Come Thou Fount is definitely in my top ten–“Oh, to grace how great a debtor daily I’m constrained to be….” I also love And Can it Be and Be Thou My Vision, but I can’t leave out Great Is Thy Faithfulness, and It Is Well With My Soul. One of my favorite contemporary pieces is, MWS’s You Are Holy–but you need a bunch of people for that one.

    Like

  3. Nicole Snyder says:

    Jesus, Lover of My Soul.

    Like

    • howiesnyder says:

      oh that’s right! Forgot about that one. I thought I’d try a search for that one to listen to. The first one was a completely different tune – yuck. The 2nd one was just the organ playing – sounding like in Westminster Cathedral – while pretty – without the intimate feel.

      But check out this Ken Medema version: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=thtG-1ju0TQ. Seems like he’s not singing on the melody line exactly though – am I correct? Beautiful though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

