What Is The Internet Hiding?

What Is The Internet Hiding?

Wow – this is good. We all need to be aware of this and find ways to seek things, information and people outside of our filters – virtual or not.

UPDATE: Okay, after posting this a couple days ago, I’ve been thinking more about this. Thoughts like, is this all bad?  And, what-if anything-should be done about this?

Well, one thing for sure – this quote by Mark Zuckerberg IS disturbing:

“A squirrel dying in your front of your house may be more relevant to your interests right now than people dying in Africa.”

What is more relevant to Jesus? I’m sure any true Christian today has been saddened by their own lack of compassion when seeing images of suffering in far off lands. Listening to an amazing talk by Mark Yaconelli the other day and he brought this up. His suggestion was to really look in the faces of those you see suffering. So this is something I want to try in the future, instead of quickly turning the page or looking away.

Anyhow, back to the information filter issue – what should our response be? Personally, I would LOVE it if sites like Facebook and Google and such would actually have the option where we could check the boxes like he showed an example of in the video such as:

  • Relevant
  • Important
  • Uncomfortable
  • Challenging
  • Other Points of View
What do you think?
About howie snyder

Love Jesus, love my family, love meeting new people and sharing life with them!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What Is The Internet Hiding?

  1. L-Pie says:

    *I responded on Facebook, but I thought I’d put the comment here too.*
    I heard Eli Pariser’s interview on NPR yesterday (I think it was yesterday), and I was shocked. I guess the fact that yahoo and google show the stories they THINK are most relevant to me shouldn’t surprise me, but it really did. I’ll have to say, too, I’m a little discouraged by what I’ve seen on those sites since then (what they think I’m interested in). I guess it’s true that the stories that I choose to click on are more superficial than they should be, and it really made me think. Your blog post really begs some questions that I’ve been struggling with for awhile now. What is the Christian response to the barrage of information to which we’re exposed? What is the Christian responsibility to seek out information regarding the suffering of others? And how do we respond to that difficult information? I feel that Christians are often more concerned about the salvation of others (who is “saved” and who isn’t), and less concerned about the daily suffering of others. Do we choose to ignore suffering on a global scale, in order to focus in on the sin we perceive in those directly around us?

    Like

    • howiesnyder says:

      Hey cuz! Very thoughtful response with excellent points and questions! Thanks for sharing. Similar to you, at first I didn’t think it was that big of a deal, but it kept bothering me more the more I thought about it. I’ll be thinking about and wrestling with those questions over the coming days. I am a part of the Save Darfur campaign and am involved with World Vision, as well as sponsor a child through Compassion. But it’s easy to try and just do my tidbit to feel good about myself and then not have to think about it anymore. I know there’s often a sense of compassion fatigue (justified or not) or feeling overwhelmed by all the suffering. But it’s also easy to turn a blind eye to the suffering of those we come in direct contact with. Good thoughts – thanks again!

      Like

  2. Stefan says:

    I use scroogle.org and http://duckduckgo.com/ for search now. Scroogle uses the google api to query google and makes it anonymous and duckduckgo is a new search engine that I really like that has promised better privacy and has some cool features. I rarely have to actually go to google.com to search for things anymore. Facebook wise, I wish that you could choose to not do it, but, on the other hand, some people like filtering like this. It shows you stuff that you like.

    Like

  3. howiesnyder says:

    Stefan – awesome! Thanks so much for the tip. I’ll check them out! Nicole is happy for those tips too. 🙂

    Stefan/Laura, btw, if you go to http://en.gravatar.com/, you can set up your own image that will show up whenever you make a comment on any blog anywhere. It links through your email addy. Pretty cool! 🙂

    Like

  4. Julie Katzman says:

    Thanks for the info. Before Facebook and Google, it was said you could see a person’s priorities and interests by reading her checkbook register. That wasn’t always true, since some people like to operate on a mainly cash basis. My time on Facebook is not a good measure of my interest in mankind. In my half-a-century, I’ve realized that if a person wants to help, she’ll help quietly. If she only wants to judge, she’ll do it loudly in the hope that someone will perceive decibels as action. Let’s hope that Google and Facebook will spend a few billion dollars annually to help those in need, but I really doubt that’ll happen.

    Like

    • howiesnyder says:

      Good words Julie! One thing I do like about Google is their unofficial motto, “Don’t be evil” with obviously the focus on doing good. I’m sure the whole idea of putting things based on your interests is done with positive intentions (at lease with Google). Though my hope is that they consider these issues that have been raised and see their responsibility here.

      Like

Leave a Reply

