How He Loves Us

This has been a popular song lately. It is a very moving song for me – especially as it focuses on God’s amazing love for us. My whole life I’ve had this struggle of a burden of works and perfection and as a result I have struggled with guilt and shame and always feeling like I’ve fallen so short. But the lyrics of this song helps to bring me back to this amazing love of God for me. These opening words particularly, “He is jealous for me, Love’s like a hurricane, I am a tree, Bending beneath the weight of his wind and mercy.”

So this morning I pulled out my guitar for private worship and sang a couple Starfield songs and then this song. Today the words of this song that struck me were, “And I don’t have time to maintain these regrets when I think about the way… that He loves us….”.

I’ve always thought it is funny how there is a popular notion today to live with “no regrets”. A former youth wrote this on their Facebook status recently and I replied, “What if you’ve killed someone?” The truth is all of us have regrets. The popular notion of “no regrets” is really a way to try and get past those regrets and not be shackled by them. What I love about the lyrics above is the idea of “I don’t have time to maintain these regrets” because of living in and through the love of God. Those regrets still might be there, but we forget about them and instead live in freedom because of His amazing grace, sacrifice and love for us!

Psalm 103:11-12, “For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is his love for those who fear him; as far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us.”

About howie snyder

Love Jesus, love my family, love meeting new people and sharing life with them!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How He Loves Us

  1. Brian McLaughlin says:

    I love that song. But I am most familiar with a version where a woman sings it. I will happily read your blog Howard!

    Like

Leave a Reply

